Ned M. and Rakim

I ain't no joke

I ain't no joke

Since I am the only person on Harvard’s campus who has ever lived in Chidley, I like to represent NCCU whenever I can. Early last semester, I was wearing my favorite NCCU sweatshirt, when this white student walked up to me and asked if I went to Central. I only mention his race, because it was rare enough to find people in North Carolina who knew about NCCU. Now here was someone in Cambridge who knew. The student’s knowledge of NCCU came from his love for Little Brother, the hip hop/rap group that hails from Central. The student is Ned Monahan. I have been fortunate to meet many great students here on campus and Ned is one of the best. His knowledge of hip-hop is deep and insightful and he is a good kid. He also does a hip-hop show for the Harvard radio station and last week snagged an incredible interview with rap legend, Rakim. He uploaded it to Youtube. Check it out and if you like the interview or you know of an artist who is gonna be in the Boston area and would like to be in his show, give Ned a shout, at (emonahan@fas.harvard.edu). 

 

Published in: on January 29, 2009 at 4:51 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://erniesuggsharvard.wordpress.com/2009/01/29/ned-m-and-rakim/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

