Snow Day

I am not wearing a gray hat. That is the amount of snow that landed on me during my journey.

I am not wearing a gray hat. That is the amount of snow that landed on me during my journey.

Today is the day that they have been warning us about since we arrived in Cambridge. It has been freezing for weeks, but today the snow finally arrived. And it will be around for a while. The forecast is predicting that it will snow at least through the weekend, with heavy winds and highs in the low 20’s. I didn’t mind it much today, but ask me again in a month. Or a week. I grew up in Brooklyn and worked in Westchester County for a couple of winters. Even Rocky Mount and Durham had a few snowstorms, but I think up here in New England, I will endure the most intense, sustained bad weather I have ever experienced. I lost one of my gloves earlier this week, so I walked from my home on Carver to Harvard Square to get a new pair of gloves from Eastern Mountain Sports. I picked up one of those skullcaps as well. The ones that cover most of my face. Needless to say, I didn’t need a bag for either, as I wore them out of the store. The streets were pretty much desolate and stores and shops were quickly closing for the day. As I made my way through Harvard Yard on my way back home, I noticed a girl cross country skis. She was having an easier time getting across campus than I was.

 

Published in: on December 20, 2008 at 1:11 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://erniesuggsharvard.wordpress.com/2008/12/20/snow-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

